Brief interlude: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – We Should All Be Feminists

“Gender as it functions today is a grave injustice.”

“Some people ask, ‘Why the word feminist? Why not just say you are a believer in human rights, or something like that?’ Because that would be dishonest.”

Brief outline: This essay is an adaptation of Adichie’s TEDtalk, entitled “We should all be feminists”. To watch this TEDtalk, click here.

Thoughts and feelings: Firstly, just a note to say that I am still trying to complete the book list, but I have this awful habit of reading two things at once. If something piques my interest when I’m reading, I just pick it up. I normally read two books at once, something I’ve tried to refrain from doing so far to try and keep on track. Oh, well. 

I was browsing Amazon, for the gazillionth time and this little book appeared on my recommended list. The title alone enticed me, obvious current affairs issues aside, and I wanted to know what this book had to offer to my knowledge. When it arrived I was a tad “I wish there was more” but it’s a text I can go back to now. It’s a book I can give to my friends as a present or put on a coffee table in lieu of a magazine. It’s something that if someone questioning my beliefs on feminism, I can quote or return to.

If you’re looking for a book about the multitude waves of feminism, it’s not for you. If you’re looking for a book about a personal experience with feminism, or a very brief look into the way culture can affect interaction with feminism, then try it. Of course, you can always watch the TEDtalk, but as I prefer reading to watching, I have it as a text now. It’s a tiny thing, only about 52 pages long in size 12 font, and took me about ten minutes to read, but it was a valuable ten minutes.

Leave a Reply

